Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website
photo Dr. Christopher Bruce BURNS MLA
Member for Johnston
NT Legislative Assembly
The information on this page was provided by the parliamentarian or obtained through parliamentary handbooks or web sites. It was correct as at April 2009
Party   Australian Labor Party
State   NT
Term Expires   2012
Parliamentary Service   Elected to the Ninth Parliament for Johnston, 18 August 2001. Re-elected June 18 2005 and 9 August 2008.
Ministerial and Shadow Ministerial Appointments   Minister for Business; Trade; Asian Relations; Defence Support. Minister for Tourism from 18 October 2002. Former Minister for Primary Industry and Fisheries; Environment and Heritage; Essential Services. Tranport & Infrastructure; Lands & Planning; Public Employment; Corporate & Information Services; Communications; Health; Racing, Gaming and Licensing; Alcohol Policy.
Parliamentary Party Positions   Caucus Secretary (August 2001)
Committee Service   Chair, Standing Committee on Members' Interests. Member, Standing Committee on Privileges; Standing Orders. Chair, Public Accounts Committee (August 2001)
Former Occupations   Pharmacist; Public Health Professional; Truck Driver; Bee-Keeper
Qualifications   BPharm; BSc (Hons), PhD
Electoral Address   PO Box 41389
Casuarina NT 0811
Telephone   08 8948 0577
Fax   08 8948 0525
Other Addresses   Shop 3, Rapid Creek Shopping Village, 48 Trower Road, Millner, NT, 0810; or Parliament House, Darwin NT 0800, or, GPO Box 3721, Darwin NT 0801; Ph: 08 8901 4162 Fax: 08 8901 4165
Date of Birth   12/8/49
Place of Birth   Sydney, New South Wales
Married/Children   Married; 3 children
Interests   Fishing and Sailing

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements