Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website
photo Dr Andrew John SOUTHCOTT MP
Member for Boothby
Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was provided by the parliamentarian or obtained through parliamentary handbooks or web sites. It was correct as at February 2008
Party   Liberal Party
State   SA
Parliamentary Service   Elected to the House of Representatives for Boothby, South Australia, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004 and 24 November 2007.
Ministerial and Shadow Ministerial Appointments   Shadow Minister for Employment Participation, Apprenticeships and Training from 6 December 2007 - 22 September 2008. Shadow Minister for Employment Participation and Training; Sport from 22 September 2008.
Committee Service   House of Representatives Standing: Environment, Recreation and the Arts from 30.5.96 to 31.8.98; Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 30.5.96 to 31.8.98; Financial Institutions and Public Administration from 12.12.96 to 31.8.98; Economics, Finance and Public Administration from 8.12.98 - 8.10.2001; Privileges from 9/12/1998 to 8.10.01. Joint Statutory: National Crime Authority from 14.5.98 to 31.8.98; Corporations and Securities from 8.12.98 - 8.10.01. Joint Standing: National Capital and External Territories from 26.6.96 to 31.8.98; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 3.9.97 - 31.8.98, and from 8.12.98 - 8.10.01.
Party Positions   President of Young Liberals Brighton-Glenelg Branch, 1989; President of Liberal Party Mitchell Branch from 1994- 95; President of Boothby Federal Electorate Committee, 1994; House of Reps. Delegate to State Council since 1996.
Other Positions   Amnesty International; Inter-Parliamentary Union and associated parliamentary friendship groups of Vietnam, APPF, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, European Parliament, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zimbabwe, Italy, The Netherlands, Turkey, United Kingdom and the United States of America.
Former Occupations   Medical practitioner 1991-95
Qualifications   M.B, B.S (University of Adelaide) B.Ec. (Flinders University)
Awards   Economic Society of SA Prize for Economic Statistics (1995)
Electoral Address   760 Marion Road
Marion SA 5043
Telephone   (08) 8374 0511
Fax   (08) 8374 3071
Other Addresses   Parliamentary Address: PO Box 6022 or House of Representatives, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600. Fax: (02) 6277 8476. Phone: (02) 6277 4283.
Date of Birth   15/10/67
Place of Birth   Adelaide, SA
Married/Children   Married

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements