Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Peter Howard COSTELLO
Current Party Liberal Party
Description Inner metropolitan
Location Higgins covers an area from Hughesdale in the south east, South Yarra and Toorak in the north west, Windsor in the south west, Camberwell in the north east, and Ashburton and Glen Iris in the east. The main suburbs include Armadale, Ashburton, Kooyoong, Malvern, Malvern East and Toorak. There are parts of Camberwell, Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hughesdale, Murumbeena, Prahran, South Yarra and Windsor.
Origin Higgins was named after the Hon. H.B. Higgins, former MHR, Justice of the High Court, and second President of the Conciliation and Arbitration Commission. Higgins was first proclaimed in 1948. The first election was held for the Division in 1949.
Products/Industries The division is mainly residential with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.
State VIC
Area 39 sq kms (approx)
Population 127,345 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 89,608 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements