Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

TAS House of Assembly
The information on this page was provided by the Tasmanian Electoral Office, the Tasmanian Parliamentary Library and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at September 2002.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Members Rene HIDDING (Liberal Party)

David Edward LLEWELLYN (Australian Labor Party)

Michael Robert POLLEY (Australian Labor Party)

Tim MORRIS (Tasmanian Greens)

Heather Rose BUTLER (Australian Labor Party)

Description Rural
Location Central and mid-north Tasmania; it includes the towns of Campbell Town, New Norfolk, Rosebery, Queenstown and St Marys
Origin The Division was named after J A and Dame Enid Lyons. Dame Enid was the first woman elected to the House of Representatives in 1943 and the first woman to reach cabinet rank in 1949. Joseph Lyons was Prime Minister of Australia from 1932-39. (Previously division of Wilmot) Lyons was first proclaimed in 1984 - the first election was held for the Division in 1984.
Products/Industries Fishing, forestry, wool, beef and dairy cattle, fruit, wine, hydro-electric power generation, mining, tourism.
State TAS
State Electorates Lyons is co-extensive with the Tasmanian Federal electorate of the same name
Area 40,604 sq kms (approx)
Population 90,638 as at 2002
Enrolled Electors 62,599 as at 15/10/01

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements