Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Greg COMBET
Current Party Australian Labor Party
Description Provincial
Location Charlton covers the area from Rankin Park, Cardiff Heights, Cardiff South and Garden Suburb in the east, encompassing all of Lake Maquarie, then extending south to Wyee, including Mandalong and Martinsville to the west and Seahampton, West Wallsend and Maryland in the north. Main suburbs include, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Minmi and most of Wallsend in the Newcastle area, Boolaroo, Cardiff, Cooranbong, Edgeworth, Morisset, Speers Point, Toronto, Warners Bay, and Wangi Wangi in the Lake Macquarie area.
Origin Charlton was named after Mr Matthew Charlton, the local Member of the NSW Legislative Assembly 1903-1910, Member of the House of Representatives 1910-1928 and ALP Leader 1922-1928. Charlton was first proclaimed in 1984. The first election was held for the Division in 1984.
Products/Industries Light and heavy engineering, timber textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, sulphide production and retailing.
State NSW
Area 578 sq kms (approx)
Population 124,205 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 91,277 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements