Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Annette Louise ELLIS
Current Party Australian Labor Party
Description Inner metropolitan
Location Canberra covers an area from the whole of Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the South of Canberra suburbs of Yarralumla, Parkes, Forrest, Deakin, Red Hill, the industrial area Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee River. It also includes those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory
Origin Canberra was locality name from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'. Canberra was first proclaimed in 1974. The first election was held for the Division in 1974.
Products/Industries Mainly residential with some light industry at Hume, tourism, and retail industries. Many people who reside in the division of Canberra are employed by the government.
State ACT
Area 1,921 sq kms (approx)
Population 165,058 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 122,618 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements