Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Pat FARMER
Current Party Liberal Party
Description Outer Metropolitan
Location acarthur covers an area stretching from Nattai and Lake Burragorang in the west to Appin, Wedderburn, Airds, Ruse and Kentlyn in the east. The northern boundary extends east from Lake Burragorang along Werriberri Creek, Eltons Road, Taylors Road, Bushrangers Creek, Nepean River, Bringelly Creek, Greendale Road and Bringelly Road to the intersection with Allenby Road. In the south from Lake Burragorang extending east along Hoddles Track, Rockbarton Road, Barkers Lodge Road, Thirlmere locality boundary, Bridge Street, Main Southern Railway line, Myrtle Creek, Nepean River, Cordeaux River, the northern Wingecarribee and Wollongong local government boundaries to O Hares Creek and Dahlia Creek. Main towns and suburbs include Appin, Camden, Cobbitty, Currans Hill, Douglas Park, Glen Alpine, Harrington Park, Kentlyn, Mount Annan, Maldon, Menangle Park, Nattai, Narellan, St Helens Park, Wedderburn, Werombi, Wilton and parts of Bringelly, Campbelltown, Leumeah, Mowbray Park, Picton and Rossmore.
Origin Macarthur was named after Captain John Macarthur (1767-1834), an early settler in Australia and an influential force on the colony. He was the founder of the merino wool industry in Australia. Macarthur was first proclaimed in 1949. The first election was held for the Division in 1949.
Products/Industries The area contains residential, commercial, small business and light industrial activities. The area also produces fruit, vegetables, fodder crops, wine and is a centre for horse-breeding/ agistment and tourism. Oran Park Raceway, the Macarthur Campus of the University of Western Sydney, the University of Sydney farms and the Mount Annan Botanic Gardens are also located here.
State NSW
Area 1,300 sq kms (approx)
Population 126,599 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 84,817 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements