Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Dick ADAMS
Current Party Australian Labor Party
Description Rural
Location Lyons is the largest division in Tasmania covering most of the State from the west to the east coasts and from Beaconsfield township in the north to New Norfolk and the Tasman Peninsula region in the south. The main towns include Beaconsfield, Brighton, Campbell Town, Deloraine, Dodges Ferry, Evandale, Exeter, Hadspen, Longford, Midway Point, New Norfolk, Perth, Queenstown, Richmond, St Helens, Sheffield, Sorell and Westbury.
Origin Lyons was named after J. A. and Dame Enid Lyons. Dame Enid was the first woman elected to the House of Representatives in 1943 and the first woman to reach Cabinet rank in 1949. Joseph Lyons was Prime Minister of Australia from 1932-39. (Previously division of Wilmot.) Lyons was first proclaimed in 1984. The first election was held for the Division in 1984.
Products/Industries Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.
State TAS
Area 40,604 sq kms (approx)
Population 92,966 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 68,566 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements