Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Jim TURNOUR
Current Party Australian Labor Party
Description Rural
Location Leichhardt covers an area from the Torres Strait Islands in the north to Cairns and Edmonton in the south. The main towns include Bamaga, Cairns, Cooktown, Kuranda, Mossman, Port Douglas, Thursday Island and Weipa.
Origin Leichhardt was named after Friedrich Wilhelm Ludwig Leichhardt (1813-48) explorer and scientist, who disappeared while attempting to cross the continent in 1848. Leichhardt was first proclaimed in 1949. The first election was held for the Division in 1949.
Products/Industries Sugar, tropical fruit, aquaculture, cattle, fishing, mining and tourism.
State QLD
Area 150,366 sq kms (approx)
Population 153,578 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 94,764 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements