Parliament @ Work
Political Parties
CCE Website

Federal House of Representatives
The information on this page was obtained from Australian Electoral Commission publications and the Australian Bureau of Statistics and was correct at February 2008.
This product (electoral map) incorporates data that is:
© Commonwealth of Australia (Australian Electoral Commission) 2001
The Data (Commonwealth Electoral Boundaries 2004) has been used in the electoral map with the permission of the Australian Electoral Commission. The Australian Electoral Commission has not evaluated the Data as altered and incorporated within the electoral map, and therefore gives no warranty regarding its accuracy, completeness, currency or suitability for any particular purpose.
Limited End-user licence provided by the Australian Electoral Commission:
You may use the electoral map to load, display, print and reproduce views obtained from the Data, retaining this notice, for your personal use, or use within your organisation only.

Current Member Julia Eileen GILLARD
Current Party Australian Labor Party
Description Outer metropolitan
Location Lalor covers an area from Toolern Valley in the north to Werribee South and Point Cook in the south. From Melton West, Parwan and Little River in the west to Diggers Rest, Plumpton, Rockbank and Laverton in the east. The main suburbs and towns include Brookfield, Diggers Rest, Exford, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Kurunjang, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River, Mambourin, Melton, Melton South, Melton West, Mount Cottrell, Parwan, Plumpton, Point Cook, Quandong, Rockbank, Tarneit, Toolern Vale, Truganina, Werribee, Werribee South, and Wyndham Vale.
Origin Lalor was named after Peter Lalor (1827-89), leader of the Eureka Stockade rebellion in 1854. He was later elected to the Victorian Legislative Council. Lalor was first proclaimed in 1948. The first election was held for the Division in 1949.
Products/Industries Heavy industries, small industries, market gardening, grazing, cropping, thoroughbred horses, tertiary education, Werribee Mercy Hospital, University of Melbourne Vetinary School and Agriculture & Food Technology Precinct.
State VIC
Area 991 sq kms (approx)
Population 158,139 as at 2006
Enrolled Electors 104,186 as at 30/11/07

Return to Search Results

New Search

Australian Government - Department of Education, Employment and Workplace RelationsEducation Services Australia
Copyright | Privacy | Disclaimer | Contact | Acknowledgements